The Beginnings of a Podcast

So a while back I decided to start doing a podcast.

I think part of this was I wanted to see if what i thought was `funny` between my friends was also considered funny by others. Fairly natural curiosity you might say, i feel everyone has this feeling at some point, everyone wants to feel funny. I think it’s because it gives us value in our own character, i.e. Yes I’m funny, therefore I’m happy with who I am.
So i’d say fairly normal kind of start out point.

There was a 2nd & technically a 3rd reason maybe, that were even larger than the first. I wanted to talk in the podcast a reasonable amount about games. Now when I’m at University due to one of my friends not wanting to do it frequently we do it roughly every 2 weeks, however in the holidays I do it with an old school friend of mine as we had a minor successful (i guess?) venture into streaming (we didn’t do it for that long, but we got some good traffic in about 3 weeks), we me and him do the podcast it is far more focused around games and gaming news.
This brings me onto the point, I want to work in the Games Industry. I love to be an artist/animator (for some of the artist positions it’s just never really going to happen, I can draw as well as an amputee, but animation I’m taking up in the summer & modeling), or a Programmer (for the Game, Engine, Tools, I don’t really care which, but all of them terrify me, even as someone doing a computer science degree at University currently), A Developer/Manager (I’d have to be an absolute genius with knowledge in most of the fields, so have an okay understanding of modeling & coding & design, which isn’t impossible just hard) or even a Designer (from Levels to Cinematics there’s so many choices!).
So I want to work in the games industry, why do a podcast then? Well I realised that

A) Those who do more outside of the work given are given higher priority when hiring
B) To do something as competitive as Gaming you need to DO something, I can learn as much as I want, but doing something that can gain an audience whether it’s a podcast, a small indie game or (in the case of a little web series called HAWP – look it up) write some `shorts` will give me leauges of advantage over the next guy
C) It sells who I am, look at one point or another you’re going to have to `sell` yourself to your potential boss, when it comes to be mine turn, i’ll be able to have a back catalogue of things they can look up who show who I am for better or worst.

So that’s how I decided to do a podcast with my friends really and now I’d like to hopefully share my podcast here too.
Its still early days, and we’re doing slightly better, but it’s still no where near a following… well there isn’t a following I don’t think, at least not an active one. The podcast does well for downloads (don’t get me wrong) however iTunes ratings/reviewings & Twitter followers are hard to come by.
However in attempts to help the Podcast I did get shout outs from a couple other podcasters who were starting out, just to give us a little boost on numbers and bonus, I found some fun new podcasts 🙂

Anyway, that is the birth of the podcast, that is the birth of “The Magical Fun Bus”
Rate us, Review us on iTunes, Follow us on Twitter and we’ll all be in your debt
Here is our first Episode.
Thank You.

http://magicalfunbus.podomatic.com/entry/2013-01-20T16_52_31-08_00

About willza99

Twitch Streamer, Youtuber, Blogger, Marvel-eer, Vaas' Psychologist & Vault Hunter. Truth be told, I'll probably be putting my writing excerpts here, Some Youtube videos that I'm either very proud of or feel people should see. Maybe Updates to or about my Stream on Twitch and any ramblings I have about either the Dredd & Riddick Films as they're badass as all hell
This entry was posted in Podcast and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

