Review Rant

So, it’s been a while since I’ve had a rant but I feel I’m justified in this case.

So as anyone who actually somehow reads this stuff regularly (I see the foot traffic, I know it’s unlikely) will know I love games and want to go into game design. This started the idea that I should do `something`, anything really to show that I have a passion for games, otherwise what sets me apart? Not much, some alright grades? This is a competitive field, where Entertainment, Passion and Ability win out, not the fact that I study sorta hard (not at all).

Anyway, so that’s why I started writing. Technically the first thing I ever wrote was a rant to a friend over the tiresome actions of the drunk lunatics I find myself enclosed with at University. Thats beside the point, this is about games. So I figured, this is a personal blog, not many people are going to come through here daily, I’m going to have to do something. So I researched how to bring more people into this page… didn’t do great so far but there’s always time and improvements to be made.

This led to my 2nd idea. Well this is my review, it’s my content, I created it, so surely I can put it where I want. I started with Reddit in the subreddit r/Games, turns out they don’t enjoy reviews as I’d always get voted down, this lead to r/gaming, same issue, not really a very open community considering if they see the word review, they’d downvote (seriously only one review did well and that’s partly because the Developer of said game saw it and commented his thanks for the read – I geek’d out hard that night). Anyway this ended me up at my newest home in Reddit r/ShouldIBuyThisGame. A fun, smaller but active community that I’ve had only 1 hiccup with, so a good track record I’d say.

I realised however Reddit wouldn’t be enough, I’d have to stretch my arm out to more websites, I googled some and hit up the first 15 or so I came across (I didn’t know where to post, so I had to resort to google). This search resulted in things like Destructiod, IGN, GiantBomb, N4G, Kotaku, EpicBattleAxe and Gamespot to mention just a few. Over the series of maybe 4/5 reviews I quickly realised alot of them didn’t want my content as it was just copied and pasted from this wordpress, which I would link to at the bottom in a friendly way – “And please feel free to check out https://willza99.wordpress.com/ for more of my reviews, thanks for reading”. Innocent enough right?

Wrong, apparently this counted as spam, didn’t matter that it was MY content, I created it and the fact that the communities on these websites were (statistically speaking) not exactly the same (i.e. all the people in the GiantBomb community are ALSO all the people in N4G, just as an example), therefore new people are seeing it, not the same old people across several websites.
Many told me to leave and not to post there ever again, others banned me, several said that any content I created had to original (changing 3 words at the beginning apparently isn’t original FYI). Now, I’m just a person, not a developer (although it is what i’m working toward), not a journalist, just a student who is trying to prepare for the future and to show I have dedication and passion to drive me. Clearly this didn’t hit any heart strings with some of the more annoying and even confrontational websites I came across.

It’s upsetting if people don’t see my content, it’s more so it they don’t enjoy it, but to be told I’m not allowed to post at all, everything I do has to be original (you’d have to pay me to do that, what kind of one website only moderators do you employ?) is so goddamn ludacris. Now I’ll say that places such as Reddit have told me I can’t link to this blog directly, fair enough, I’ll just put search for willza99 on wordpress, it’ll result in less traffic, but still some may come through. Those are the nice websites, the kind ones that don’t mind so long as it doesn’t detract from their traffic, a minor annoyance that I can’t put a link, but still fair.

I find it ridiculous, nonsensical, asinine and down right stupid that I’ve been banned, for posting material from this blog onto personal blogs on other sites – which isn’t personal, it’s still their website, only my profile, at least this link has my name in it. I find it even more arse-headed of those who said I could only ever post original content. Really? You expect me a customer essentially to create entirely new material just for your site, that I can’t post or have posted anywhere else? You’ve got to be delusional and borderline retarded, how the hell does a business model like that even work? How can you possibly get consumers to stay on your website if those are the rules you enforce.
The reason I bring these 2 examples up are not just because they’ve happened, I’ve had several moderators say to me I can’t do X, Y and Z, but in the event of these 2, on one I was accused of having an alternative account where the only thing that the other account did was comment… once…. a year ago. Are you kidding me? That’s sometime a suspicious alternative account I own? Luckily enough the other user came out and said, no that’s not my account, we must be at the same University housing (a weird coincidence i’ll grant you). He was given back normally privileges and is being monitored… I’m still goddam banned, I was never given a chance to explain my side, to even change my content. If they hated the link it could have been removed, if they wanted new material i’d write it and tell them to stick it up their backsides along with their heads which I’ll assume are already firmly placed thusly.

I’m a student. Just a student. I get 9K worth of debt because I want to learn as I realise it’ll help me gain skills I need to work, thats 9K just to learn, that doesn’t involve the 4K for living as well, so each year I’m given 13K worth of debt, just because I want to learn.
Image
The point of this rant, is there isn’t one. If there were one it’d be; be careful what you put, know that not everyone is going to like it, and not everyone is just going to let you.

I realised a long time ago I’d have to work hard to prove the things I’m trying to prove, that I have cause, that I have dedication, that I have passion and maybe even that I have skill (I’d hope so). I think however I forgot something, it’s something I forgot when I stopped watching TV and the news where they’d interview everyone and Z-list celebrities would host chat shows, and that is that the world is full of idiots. Idiots that will get in your way, that will annoy you to the point of breaking and that will question your belief in the human races future.
I long ago decided most the people I’d meet would be stupid in one way or another (more elitist that I’d actually like to admit, but in my case I feel it’s been true). Too many people have said I couldn’t do something and were wrong, too many people have had just astounding inhumane thoughts about other peoples race, sexuality or even life style.

So take away from this rant what you can and remember as I do what Mark Twain once said

Image

About willza99

Twitch Streamer, Youtuber, Blogger, Marvel-eer, Vaas' Psychologist & Vault Hunter. Truth be told, I'll probably be putting my writing excerpts here, Some Youtube videos that I'm either very proud of or feel people should see. Maybe Updates to or about my Stream on Twitch and any ramblings I have about either the Dredd & Riddick Films as they're badass as all hell
This entry was posted in Rant and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review Rant

  1. Howdy! This post could not be written any better!
    Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept talking about this. I’ll send this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a very good read. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

